You are invited to compete for the 2010 Albert Clark Award for the best papers in Religious Studies or Theology.
$500 Award for the Best Undergraduate Paper
$500 Award for the Best Graduate Paper
Winning Essays to be published in the

 Journal of Theta Alpha Kappa

                                                            Sponsored by 

                                                     THETA ALPHA KAPPA


The National Board of Directors of TAK invites entries for the 2010 Albert Clark Award, given annually to one undergraduate and one graduate student for the best papers in religious studies or theology, as judged by a panel established by the board.  Each competition winner will receive a $500 award, and his or her essay will be published in the Journal of Theta Alpha Kappa. 

Competition guidelines: The competition is open to any student currently enrolled in or graduated from a school with a TAK chapter, provided that the paper was written while attending that school.  It is also open to alumni members of TAK.  Papers may be submitted through TAK chapter moderators or independently.  In either case, a cover letter should indicate the name of the entrant, the school, status as undergraduate or graduate, permanent mailing address, and mailing addresses to be used in the year of submission (2009) and after January 2010.

-        Essays in religious studies and in all fields of theology are welcome.

-    Only one essay per author will be considered.  During the period that the essay is under consideration for publication in JTAK, the author asserts that it has not been published elsewhere and is not being considered for publication elsewhere.

-        All essays submitted will be considered both for the Albert Clark Award and for publication in the Journal.

-     Papers should be double-spaced and should not exceed 20 pages, including endnotes, when typed in a 12-point font size.  Shorter papers are acceptable.

-        Author's name and school name should be identified in cover letter only - not on manuscript original or copies.  The original and copies must be free of any information that may identify the author and may contain no comments by previous readers.

-          A manual of style should be followed, preferably the Chicago Manual of Style.

-          Deadline for submission is January 15, 2010.

-          Winners will be chosen and notified of the judges' decisions in March 2010. 

Send four (4) copies to:
Dr. Leo H. Madden, JTAK Editor
Department of Theology

Ohio Dominican University
1216 Sunbury Road
Columbus, OH 43219

Clark Awards Previous Winners List:

Best Undergraduate Essay                                Best Graduate Essay

Jessica Coblentz                      2009          Carson Webb                                                      Santa Clara University                               Syracuse University

Anna Zaros                              2008          Miles Adam Park
The Catholic University of America            Missouri State University

Erin Culp                                  2007          Paul Buehler
Elon University
                                          Loyola University, New Orleans

Jeffrey Durkin                          2006           Carly Crouch
Georgetown University
                               Oxford University

Joe Lencioni                            2005            Nada Unus
Gustavus Adolphus College
                        Harvard Divinity School

J. Patrick Hornbeck II               2004            Amy Peeler
Georgetown University
                                Princeton Theological Seminary

Meaghann Weniger                 2003           Patricia Lipperini
Creighton University
                                    LaSalle University

David Odorisio                         2002           Erin E. Mountz
LaSalle University
                                        University of Wisconsin-Madison